Bror hat for fall KAL 

Bror hats knit in de rerum natura.

Do I have time for yet another KAL? Do you? 
This time it’s different. This time I am the one hosting the KAL  (insert exclamation marks here). I have never done such a thing, so please bear over with my clumsiness and ad hoc (lack of) preparation as I decided this on a whim because fall will come quickly and when it’s there you want to have the hat ready!

Here’s the facts:

  • Pattern : Bror hat
  • Dates  : September 15 to October 15
  • #brorhatforfallKAL on social media 
  • KAL thread for Q&A and general chatter in the L’Oisivethé  group on Ravelry 

Choose the yarn you want to use, show it off and whip up a stranded hat for fall!

Notes about the hat pattern: 

It’s a simple stranded hat Aimée at La Bien Aimée commissioned me to make for the shop last winter. I made a set of two and I called the set Søsken, one boyish called Bror and one girlie called Søster, using different yarns : Gilliatt from Dererum Natura and Knit by numbers (KBN) from John Arbon. Both yarns are a treat, and if you want to use the original yarn, I do recommend them both. They are quiet different though. The Gilliatt is woollen spun and lofty, whereas the KBN is soft worsted spun  and incredibly soft. 

The pattern design will suit knitters that are new to stranded colour work, although it doesn’t explain how to knit stranded – that, you will have to figure out yourself. For an experienced knitter, it is plain smooth stranded cruising. I promise it will take under a week to knit it up in worsted weight yarn. But you might want to knit it in a different weight, which is fully possible as the pattern repeats are short and you can adapt easily.

A cowl I made in fingering yarn (Koigu) using the motifs from the Bror hat.

I am knitting in a dk weight his time. I have spared these two skeins of La Bien Aimée for this and it’s their Merino DK in colours Madeline (seconds) and French Grey. I’ll use Madeline as the main colour.

La Bien Aimée Merino dk

I am eager to start, and I hope you will knit along with me. That would be fun! 

Happy knitting!

One response to “Bror hat for fall KAL 

Leave a Reply

