Making a hat

DSCN3484

Søsken – a duo of hats by Hege Klaseie

Some months ago, Aimée, my knitting friend and owner of l’Oisivethé, asked me if I could make a hat showing off a new yarn the shop was carrying : Gilliat from De Rerum Natura. I was thrilled, because I have already knit with this gorgeous natural yarn from Solenn. It has everything I love about yarn. It is pure and natural and locally sourced. And so soft and lofty. And the colours!!!

DSCN3455

Bror knit in Gilliat from De Rerum Natura

I like to make simple patterns. I like to fiddle about with yarn. And while fiddling, I get more ideas. And one hat pattern became two. And how could I ignore the second motif of the hat that came into my mind? So I grabbed some utterly soft John Arbon Textiles Knit By Numbers (KBN), to knit a girlie version.

DSCN3463

Søster knit in John Arbon Textiles Knit By Numbers (KBN)

The result is the mini eBook Søsken containing a duo of stranded norwegian hats knit in two different yarn bases. Bror is knit in the (light) worsted/ DK weight Gilliat from De Rerum Natura, and Søster is knit in the (light) DK / Sport weight John Arbon Textiles Knit By Numbers (KBN). The difference in gauge affects the size, of course, but it is easily modified, as each chart has a 6 stitch repeat.

I really enjoyed knitting the hats and tweaking the chart to make it work. I hope you like it too! The patterns are available on Ravelry in English and French http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/ssken

Have a wonderful weekend ! Happy knitting !

 

bror1

Bror hat knit in Gilliat by De Rerum Naura

 

 

2 responses to “Making a hat

Leave a Reply

