Summer knits : Askews me shawl

I cast on this shawl after a master class with Stephen West at l’Oisivethé in May. The class was a birthday present from my mum, and a very good gift to get. I was over-inspired by the enthusiastic and sweet knitting designer Stephen, so I threw myself into this new pattern released.

I have a huge stash, so stashbusting was a necessity. I pulled out my DK weight yarn,  a lots of leftovers. I planned and tried to imagine the colour play. It was tricky.  Trickier than I thought it would be.  The particular thing about brioche knitting with two colours is that you see all the colours at the same time,  so you will have to take into account how they all play together. And then the colours have to match on both right side and wrong side. Basically, every colours hue, value, temperature and saturation is accentuated depending on the colour sitting next to it. And I found it tremendously difficult to decide the colour sequence.  At the end, I chose the easy way.  One side plain off – white and the other side in stripes. Because it comes a time when you just have to knit it. And move forward.

image

image

image

It was a lot of fun going on in the #westknitsssk KAL thread on Ravelry at the same time, and seeing all the great #askewsmeshawl projects there was a true inspiring experience!  I ended up wanting to make all the different colour combos shown. Some were flashy and other tonal. Like mine.

image

It’s a good shawl. It’s different and funny and that’s what I like about it.
Of course, I see what I could have done differently,  both in colours and yarn base. It was a great learning process.

image

image

And, as all Stephen West’s patterns, it has some kind of fabulous swung. Even on a rainy day. And I love that.

image

Pattern: Askews me shawl by Stephen West
Yarn : Malabrigo Arroyo (leftovers) and Rowan Cashsoft DK
Raveled here

2 responses to “Summer knits : Askews me shawl

    • Thank you Keiry! Brioche is not that difficult to learn. Just have it a try, and I’m sure you’ll take it easily!

Leave a Reply

