New beginning

Do you know that feeling when you get obsessional about something and you don’t get your mind out of that spiral?
It seems like this is getting a nasty habit of mine when it comes to choosing new knitting projects and yarn / colours. In fact, I want to knit it all and use all my stash at the same time. It’s quite unrealistic but real enough.

The beginning of my new WIP was like that. I began with this selection. As you can see, I was not yet settled on which shawl I wanted to knit. A Color craving or an Exploration station, both by Stephen West.   Only that the yarn was there and at hand, and I got REALLY obsessed about these colours because they all have something.

image

I settled on the combo down  middle and cast on. But I was not entirely sure it would work out in this shawl.  2 + 2 similar colours. The pattern says 1 + 3. But it could also be interesting, so I went on knitting.

image

Bah…
I love the colours,  but… not like this…
So I frogged,  and did another swatch.

image

And I lost my mojo. I took the swatch to knitnight. And frogged it. And tore out all the beautiful yarn from the shelves to find a way to make it work with my beautiful skeins at hand. Being OBSESSIONAL.

I should have known that nothing comes out of pushing it too hard. Let it go and it comes back to you.

image

So I did let go. Put my beautiful skeins back into their drawer and let them wait for some different project.
And some days later I played around with my leftovers.
image
image

And was pleased to find it worked out nicely. Of course, there’s something new too, the Cosmic wonder dust colourway to bind it all together.
image

I love it already. An explosion of summer. A new beginning.

image

7 responses to “New beginning

  1. Ooh, this looks very interesting! I totally relate to what you call your obsession. Sometimes I plan my yarn and colors and I almost NEVER stick to the plan. I very often start just like you, putting my skeins apart, but than I find myself ending up with something very different. My knitting is very intuitive, especially when it comes to color choices. I chose as I go along, it has turned out to be the best way for me. I feel like a painter with yarn.
    Can’t wait to see the result of that shawl 🙂

    • The intuition is not to be neglected indeed. And you have an excellent intuition. Also, colours are interacting, especially in hand painted yarn. I so agree about feeling like a painter with yarn, and I think playing around with colours can save the day :).

  2. I’ve done both the color craving and the exploration station. I love them both but my exploration station gets the most wear. I really want to make another exploration station using leftovers…probably end up with a lot more than 4 colors! I love the new color palate! So fun!

  3. I know exactly what you mean on the obsessed part. Yesterday, i imagined myself like an octopus with many hand for knitting different projects at the same time! Something about the creative process that gets me going.

Leave a Reply

