Saison des bonnets | Hat season

Il a fait 25 degrés depuis plus d’une semaine, et on croyait à l’été indien.

Malgré ces températures, j’ai eu envie de faire des bonnets. C’est peut-être l’inspiration sur Ravelry et Instagram qui était en cause. Et ma collection de laine épaisse (dk et worsted) qui s’agrandit malgré ma préférence des laines fingering et lace (mais non, je ne les délaisse pas pour autant !)

We have had 25 degrees for over a week, and we believed in Indian summer.

In spite of the warm weather, I have wanted to make hats. It might be due to Ravelry and Instagram inspirations. That, and my growing collection of DK and worsted weight yarn (although I still prefer fingering and lace-weight, of course!)

Deer

 

Puis, j’ai eu en cadeau un écheveau de Brooklyn Tweed Shelter. J’ai trouvé le patron d’un bonnet dans ma bibliothèque qui demandait justement un écheveau de cette laine worsted (du Shelter, en plus), Moss and Deer Horns by Sylvia Bo Bilvia qui est sorti dans Pompom Mag ce printemps. C’est un patron très simple qui monte vite (normal, c’est du worsted), et en un samedi, c’était fait. Le temps de le laver et laisser sécher durant la nuit, et j’étais prête pour la chute de 10 degrés qu’on a eus ici du samedi à dimanche.

Then I was gifted a skein of Brooklyn Tweed Shelter. I found a pattern in my library who asked for exactly one skein of worsted weight yarn (and Shelter, on top of it), Moss and Deer Horns by Sylvia Bo Bilvia from Pompom Mag this spring. It is a simple pattern who knits up fast (it is worsted, after all!), and it was done in one Saturday. After blocking and drying overnight, I could put on my new hat in this suddenly cold weather.

Pompom

 

C’est la première fois que je tricote cette laine. C’est une laine cardée (ou woolen-spun in english) qui donne un fil dense, léger et très chaud. C’est parfait pour parer le froid. Je ne crains pas la laine sèche, mais gare aux peaux sensibles (mon fils l’a arraché de la tête en exclamant qu’il gratte les oreilles…^^). Moi, j’aime mon nouveau bonnet.

It is the first time I knit this yarn. It is woolen spun which gives a dense, warm and lightweight yarn. It is perfect for keeping warm. Myself, I am not afraid of dry yarn, but be aware if you are (my son tore the hat off exclaiming ‘It itches my ears!’ ^^). Myself, I love my new hat.

 

fofolle

 

Moss

 

 

Moss again

 

 

 

4 responses to “Saison des bonnets | Hat season

  1. It’s a very nice hat! I would love to make one (or more) myself, the only problem is that I can’t decide on the pattern. Too many nice ones around.

    • Thank you Febr12! I am like you, I suddenly found so many hats that I actually made a list. Hats knit up quickly, though, so I plan to make this a hat-season.

Leave a Reply

