Vacances = tricot (4)

St. Malo

St. Malo

Et puis, quand on a ramené toutes ces laines, il faut bien les tricoter…
J’ai eu de la chance de repartir une semaine, cette fois-ci dans mon beau pays d’adoption, la France. Et la moitié de ma valise était remplie de projets ou de laine, dont mon châle commence avec la laine de chez Hifa. Ben voilà, il est terminé, et c’est encore une plaisir à tricoter, à porter, à toucher…

And after carrying all those kilos of yarn back home, I suppose its knitting-time…
I have been so lucky to go away yet another week, this time visiting my beautiful country of adoption, France. And half of my suitcase (no kidding) was WIP’s and yarn, and amongst them, my WIP-shawl using the Hifa-yarn.
I did finish it, and it’s again a true pleasure to knit, to wear and to touch…

Cladonia shawl by Hege

Cladonia shawl by Hege

Cladonia est un châle que j’ai repéré il y a très longtemps. C’est un grand succès sur Ravelry, et les variantes sont nombreuses. J’aime les rayures ET la dentelle qui s’ouvre, le mélange entre la géométrie et le baroque. Dans cette version, j’ai choisi de garder la dentelle dans une couleur unie.

Cladonia is a shawl I have admired for a very long time. It’s a great hit on Ravelry with many inspiring declinations. I love the stripes AND the beautiful lace-section, the contrast between geometry and baroque. I chose to keep the lace in one unique colour in my version.

Cladonia lace detail

Cladonia lace detail

J’ai attendu longtemps parce qu’il me fallait la laine parfaite. Et avec le temps (pas beaucoup, disons-le clairement), mon stock de laine s’est agrandi, et j’ai trouvé de bons candidats d’écheveaux dignes pour ce châle. Mais il n’était pas encore mûr pour être fait. Pas avant cet été. Dans une de mes razzias chez DyeForYarn (oui, il faut bien appeler un chat un chat :)), j’ai acheté un écheveau de BFL rose. Une jolie tache de couleur! Et avec la Hifa grise un peu rose, j’avais enfin les couleurs que je cherchais!

I have been waiting a long time to knit this shawl because I was looking for the perfect yarn. And as time passed by (not long, to be honest), my stash grew (and grew) and I regularly found good candidates. But I suppose I was not ready to make this. Not until this summer!  During one of my razzia’s at DyeForYarn (yes, let’s call it by its real name :), I bought this skein of BFL in pink. A wonderful colour-buster! And together with the pinkish grey Hifa, I finally found the perfect match!

Cladonia shawl by Hege

Pattern: Cladonia by Kristen Kapur
Yarn: BFL DyeForYarn in Electric Light Purple and
Huldra Kamgarn Hifa in lys rødlig grå (light grey)
Project page on Ravelry

Quant aux laines, je suis sous le charme. La BFL de DyeForYarn, une laine superwash, est douce au toucher, et donne une définition de point parfaite grâce à son 4ply. La Huldra Kamgarn de Hifa est aussi très douce. C’est une laine 2ply beaucoup moins tordue qui donne un gonflant après lavage et blocage qui se marie très bien avec la BFL. Le résultat est un châle moelleux et fluide.

Regarding the yarn, I am under the spell. The BFL from DyeForYarn, a superwash 4 ply tightly spun yarn, is soft and smooth, and has a great stitch definition. The Huldra Kamgarn from Hifa is equally soft. It’s a 2ply much less twisted than the first, but it blooms after blocking, and is a perfect match for the BFL in this shawl. The result is a soft and fluid shawl.

Mais alors, c’est vraiment tout ce que j’ai fait pendant cette semaine de plage ? Pourtant, la plage, c’est idéal pour le tricot…
Ben oui 😉

But, you might say, that’s all you did throughout a whole week on the beach?
I thought the beach was ideal for knitting…

Oh yes, indeed 😉

Tricot plage

Tricot plage

6 responses to “Vacances = tricot (4)

  1. Magnifique ! Je me demandais ce qu’allait donner l’association des rayures avec la dentelle et c’est vraiment réussi !!!
    I love it !

  2. This Cladonia is really beautiful! The pattern caught my attention as well and I just know I’ll make it sooner or later (2014?). Great combination with the stripes😀

Leave a Reply

